Ad Code

Responsive Advertisement

The Saudi Super Cup: Al-Ittihad vs. Al-Wahda and Al-Hilal vs. Al-Nassr in Focus

The Saudi Super Cup football tournament (also known as the Diriyah Saudi Super Cup) kicks off today in the Emirati capital, Abu Dhabi, with the participation of 4 clubs: Al-Ittihad, Al-Wahda, Al-Hilal, and Al-Nassr.

The tournament is taking place in Abu Dhabi, specifically at the Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium, marking the fourth time the competition is held outside Saudi Arabia. The competition begins with the semi-final matches today, Monday, with Al-Ittihad facing Al-Wahda, while Al-Hilal clashes with its traditional rival Al-Nassr in an exciting derby.

The winner of the two matches will advance to the final, scheduled for Thursday, April 11. The tournament starts with a strong match between Al-Ittihad and Al-Wahda, as both teams aim to salvage their season by competing for the title.

Al-Ittihad, the current holder of the Saudi Professional League title, hopes to defeat Al-Wahda and continue their journey in the tournament to rescue their season, especially as they are far from the title race in the league, currently in fourth place with a 30-point gap from the league leaders, Al-Hilal.

The match between Al-Ittihad and Al-Wahda holds significance as they have faced each other in 46 previous matches, with Al-Ittihad winning 34 times, scoring a total of 104 goals against Al-Wahda, while Al-Wahda managed to win only 5 matches, scoring 46 goals, and they drew in 7 matches.

Al-Ittihad relies on star players in its lineup such as the Frenchman Karim Benzema, N'Golo Kanté, Ahmed Hegazi, Omar Hawsawi, and Romarinho. On the other hand, Al-Wahda enters the match knowing they are not favorites to win due to the difference in capabilities and history between the two teams, but they will hold onto their chance to win the match.

The most anticipated and thrilling match will be the "Riyadh Derby" between Al-Hilal and Al-Nassr. Al-Hilal holds the record for winning the Saudi Super Cup, having won it 3 times in 2015, 2018, and 2021, while Al-Nassr clinched the title twice in 2019 and 2020.

Post a Comment


Close Menu